Frisco ISD Has Strong Showing at Texas BPA

Approximately 4,000 high school students participated in the State Business Professionals of America (BPA) Leadership Conference in Dallas in March.

Among them were Frisco ISD students who represented the District in events in the following categories: Finance, Business Administration, Management Information Systems, Digital Communication & Design, Management, Marketing & Communication and Virtual Competitive Events.

Six students will advance to the National Leadership Conference scheduled May 6-10 in Anaheim, California, with several other students serving as alternates.

Here’s a look at results from the following BPA chapters:

Career and Technical Education Center

  • Zach Smith, 1st in System Administration Using Cisco – National Qualifier
  • Caleb Hern, 4th in Computer Network Technology – National Qualifier
  • Austin Unger, 6th in Computer Security – National Alternate
  • Rishi Dandu, 8th in Network Administration Using Microsoft – National Alternate
  • Brett Buys, Caleb Hern and Zach Smith, 4th in Network Design Team – National Alternates
  • Ethan Tran, 6th in Computer Programming Concepts

Frisco High School

  • Ken Asawa, 4th in Computer Modeling – National Alternate
  • James Hwang, 4th in Economic Research Individual – National Alternate
  • Alex Vandermark, 7th in PC Servicing and Troubleshooting – National Alternate
  • Erin Melican, 8th in Integrated Office Applications – National Alternate
  • Veda Yagnik, 2nd in Business Meeting Management

Heritage High School

  • Manu Kondeti, 1st in Advanced Interview Skills – National Qualifier
  • Ethan Frie, 5th in Integrated Office Applications – National Qualifier
  • Keirth Sivarajah, 5th in Entrepreneurship – National Alternate
  • Cody Chang, 7th in Banking & Finance – National Alternate
  • Brandon Short, 8th in Human Resource Management – National Alternate
  • Sai Vogirala and Mitul Gupta, 9th in Economic Research Team – National Alternate
  • Deja Gamble, Keyboarding Production
  • Miles Jasper, Medical Office Procedures
  • Abhi Kamboji, Medical Office Procedures
  • Sahiti Yarakala, Digital Publishing
  • Trisha Sharma, Brian Hou and Yashi Yadav, Global Marketing Team
  • Srikar Sonti, Josh Mallavaram, Abhi Kamboji and Sai Athota, Small Business Management Team
  • Jivisha Chouksey, Madhu Kondeti, Madhu Kondeti and Keerthi Pasham, Presentation Management Team

Independence High School

  • Prithvi Karyampudi, 2nd in Graphic Design Promotion – National Qualifier
  • Anjali Sridharan, 5th in Presentation Management

Liberty High School

  • Cooper Morris, 1st in Computer Networking Technology – National Qualifier
  • Casey Kim, Banking and Finance and Financial team
  • Sneha Kannan, Financial Analyst Team
  • Huixi Yu, Financial Analyst Team
  • Jerry Chang, Systems Administration CISCO
  • Frank Wang, Interview Skills

In addition, Erin Melican and Melissa Mair, both of Frisco High, and Ethan Frie and Keirth Sivarajah, both of Heritage, received the Texas Merit Award for their knowledge about Texas BPA. This award was only given to 12 students total of all those who attended the State Conference.

Also, three FISD students were elected state officers for the 2015-16 school year. They include Erin Melican of FHS, who was elected as State Parliamentarian; Reuben Rusk of FHS, who was elected State Secretary; and Keirth Sivarajah, who was elected State Historian. All three will be attending the National Conference as well as part of their officer duties.

In addition, Ethan Frie of Heritage was elected as Texas’ National Officer Candidate for positions that will be selected at the National Conference.

The following two tabs change content below.
Loving all there is about community. Neighbors getting to know each other and making their community better.

Latest posts by Editor (see all)